Blick von oben auf den großen Arbeitstisch

marina stankovic architects BDA
was founded by Prof. Marina Stankovic in 1986 in Berlin. Tobias Jortzick joined the office in 2007 as a partner.

The office has an international profile and works on architectural and urban planning projects worldwide.

Our goal is to develop a suitable innovative solution for every situation and to develop an architectural language that offers space for innovation and sustainably enriches the lives of people.

By working in design advisory boards and juries, as well as through research and teaching, the office is part of an international, creative and sustainably aware network.

We accompany our clients through the entire design process, from the first idea sketch to the handover of the finished building.

In addition to new buildings, our area of ​​activity also includes conversions and extensions of existing projects. We are happy to support our clients in developing new concepts for existing buildings and spaces.

Each project represents a new challenge and offers the opportunity to reinterpret and deepen existing concepts and approaches - from small to big, from city to architecture.

We understand architecture and urbanism not as opposing disciplines, but as mediators between different scales and complexities.



Prof. Marina Stankovic studied at the University of Toronto, graduating in 1983 and is a Loeb Fellow of the Graduate School of Design, Harvard University.

Since 2006 Prof. Stankovic holds a Chair in Architecture and Interior Design at the University of Applied Sciences in Leipzig.

She founded her own studio in Berlin in 1986. Starting 2007 Dipl. Ing. Tobias Jortzick joined as partner Marina Stankovic Architekten BDA.

Prof. Stankovic lectures nationally and internationally, in addition is regularly a member of architectural juries.

From 2014 up to 2019 she served on the architectural advisory board to the City of Dresden.



Tobias Jortzick studied architecture at the Technische Universität Braunschweig.

In 1997/1998, he studied for two exchange semesters at the Ecole d'Architecture de Paris-la-Villette, before returning to complete his diploma at the Technische Universität Braunschweig with Professor Meinhard v. Gerkan.

Until 2006 he worked at the Hamburg Office of GMP, in Amsterdam with the Architecten Cie and for KSMS in Berlin for the planning of the Nam June Paik Museum.

From 2006 to 2012, he taught at the HTWK Leipzig.



Clemens Bonnen, Stefan Flachsbarth, Marta Urbanska, Phil Peterson, Ulrike Passe, Rose Spankie, Klaus Trolborg, Birgit Gräulich, Boris Glasenapp, Emily Hansen, Alexander Schneider, Wilhelm Falk, Ute Freitag, Mireia Torres Vergé, Nadezhda Povtareva, Daniel Suarez, Taehwan Kim, Sebastian Grünwald, Hannah Fuchsenberger, Lin Cao Mai, Maryna Ianina, Takehiro Goto, Kousuke Katashima, Chantal Moenan, Mark Zogrotski, John Häuser, Ute Sprickmann-Kerkernick, Stefan Drees, Ajit Menon, Daniel Nyffeler, Pertra Waga-Hoeher, Astrid Paschke, Cedric Bachelard, Laurent Bonny, Sahra Pellegrini, Carlo Calderan, Joao Sequiera Pires, Felicity Good, Uwe Brosdorf, Michael Textor, Tobias Jortzick, Anna Hopp, Chan Ik Park, Susanna Villares, Jose Ramos, Luis Gutierrez Sacristan, Roland Schlensog, Yves Kolzenburg, Dieter Ludwig, Kathleen Kunz, Sara Consorte, Beatrix Redlich, Alessia Razzi, Alex Niederhaus, Lutz Linneweber, Ulrike Linneweber, Grant Cooper, Matthias Hänsch, Junoo Chung, Po Wah Yeung, Katja Loncar, Bruno di Lecce, Hung Mai Kan, Naomi Kay Maki, Tomohiro Yanagisawa, Chao Liu Fang, Ruzica Jovanovic, Marta Masternak, Tobias Kilz, Sebastian Lorenz, Spaniard Other, Héloise Guilmin, Danjun Shao, Silvia Siracusano, Antonella Patetta, Tomas Perez Amienta, Doe Juen, Martyna Cyran, Marcelo Resala, Gustavo Iturbe, Grégoire Hubert, Stefano Solinas Petrucci, Fedor Torgashev, Erick Montefort, Justus Voigt.




Korean Award of Excellence „Nam June Paik Art Center“, South Korea


1st Prize

Refurbishment of the Goethe-Institute Library, Prague, Czech Republic
(invited competition)

Senior Citizen Centre Zollikofen, Zollikofen, Switzerland
(with Feddersenarchitekten)

International Competition Jia Rui International Plaza, Pudong-Shanghai, PRC
(invited competition)

International Urban Design Competition for Fortune Plaza in Chongqing, PRC
(in Axis-Group - Becker, Nalbach, faskel, Kelp, Rave, Stankovic)

Social Housing Pestalozzi-/Kaiser-Friedrich-Strasse, Berlin-Charlottenburg,
Germany (invited competition)

IBB InvestitionsBank Berlin, Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Germany
(invited competition)

Senior Citizens´ Center Oesig, Blankenburg/Harz, Germany
(invited competition)

Official Residence for the Canadian Ambassador, Berlin-Dahlem, Germany

Extension of the Berlin-Museum, department Jewish Museum, Berlin, Germany
(Libeskind mit Bates, Stankovic, Terragni+Vido)


2nd Prize

University of Science and Technology Hanoi, Hanoi, Vietnam
(mit C+A Coelacanth and Associates, iproplan Planungsgesellschaft, Schlaich Bergemann und Partner)

Central Library of the City Library, Cologne, Germany

Bavarian Architects´Association Headquarters, München, Germany

Extension of the Berufskolleg, Siegen, Germany
(invited competition)

RAS-Day Care Centers, Berlin-Neukölln, Germany

Rudower Felder / Diagonale, Berlin-Neukölln, Germany

Office building Hohenzollerndamm 184, Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Germany
(invited competition)


3rd Prize

Extension of the Anatomy Institute of the Freie Universität, Berlin-Dahlem, Germany

Underground station Weberwiese, Berlin-Friedrichshain, Germany
(invited competition)

Apartment building with commercial spaces, Berlin-Wilmersdorf, Germany
(invited competition)

Commercial Centre Wilhelmsruher Damm/ Roedernallee, Berlin-Reinickendorf,
Germany (invited competition)

IBP Oil Company Headquarters (CNOOC Business Centre), Shanghai, China

Finance and Business Block Taihu New City”, Wuxi, PRC


4th Prize

Vietnamese- German University, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
(Riegler Riewe Architekten, Astoc, YO2 Architects, Dr. Binnewies  Ingenieurgesellschaft, Amstein+Walthert AG, Agence Ter und Transsolar Energietechnik)

Urban planning for renovation and extension of the Masters’Houses Complex, Dessau, Germany



Central Philological Library Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität München, Germany
(C+A Coelacanth and Associates Nagoya)

Museum in Luther’s Death House, Eisleben, Germany

International Competition „Eternal Golden Castle Historic Parks“ Tainan, Taiwan

Commuter railway station Zehlendorf, commercial buildings and an open square, Berlin-Zehlendorf, Germany

Kindergarten Dubrowstrasse, Berlin-Zehlendorf, Germany

Court of Justice and Center, Neuruppin, Brandenburg, Germany

Town Hall Treptow, Berlin-Treptow, Germany

Chausseestrasse, formerly the World Youth Station, Berlin-Mitte, Germany

Urban planning competition “Rotaprint-Block”, Berlin, Germany